Food / Lifestyle

Lifestyle | Becoming Healthier (altogether)

At the start of the year I really made it my priority to feel better about myself, by what ever means it took. It’s now APRIL, a whole four months later, and I have just got into a healthy living routine. What do you mean by healthy living routine Claudia? Well I mean that I have just started living a healthier lifestyle.

I feel that I can say I am one of those people who has always eaten very well, and I’ve always eaten good food (sometimes organic) and steered clear from any processed food. Anyone close to me could also tell you that all I drink is water, I’m not the biggest fan of anything carbonated (weird IKR) – so how have you started living a healthier lifestyle?

I have changed up a lot of the things that I do on a daily basis. I wake each day around 7am, chug two big glasses of water, and then make a high protein, grains and carb breakfast. My go to breakie has to be rolled oats with fruit, or if I have more time in the morning, courgette, leek and spinach omelet with fruit.

I also now attempt to get at least 45 minutes to an hour worth of exercise. I usually start off with 30 minutes of interval running around my area (because that’s as long as I can last before I feel like I’m gonna die), and then HIIT (Hight Intensity Interval Training) until I physically feel like I can’t do anymore (which is roughly around 20/30 minutes).

*Might I preface this by saying I know that I’m no personal trainer* – I really enjoy HIIT, and I feel that it makes me and my body work to its limits. If you don’t know what HIIT is a training technique in which you give all-out, one hundred percent effort through quick, intense bursts of exercise, followed by short, sometimes active, recovery periods.

In short, his type of training gets and keeps your heart rate up and burns more fat in less time. I like to follow YouTube videos (Lumowell is the main YouTube channel that I use), as the exercise and rest time are already imbedded into the video so you don’t need to faff about with a timer.

I also you challenges (see below) that I tend to do when I am don’t feel like doing a hardcore workout.

ABS

I drink twice the amount of water I used to, and thats saying a lot because I already used to drink a lot!

I have also changed the way I view food. I’ve always had a love/hate relationship with food, but I now look at it as fuel, fuel that I need in order to be able to do such intense workouts.

I also go to bed earlier, and try to read a chapter of book before I sleep, to help my mind down-wind and to not be in front of my laptop or phone just before I attempt to sleep.

static1.squarespace

I also now track my calories, and I think this is by far the best thing I have done, I continue to eat healthier but I track how much of my recommended intake I am actually getting. I use an app on my mobile called “Lifesum” and it’s honestly the best thing. It helps me make sure that I don’t under-eat or over-eat, and I can add in the calories that I have burnt through my workout, as well as my water and fruit in-take – the app is genius!

 

SO yeah, that’s what I’ve done and what I will continue to do, I feel like I have really changed my lifestyle and that this isn’t just one of those ‘diets’ that inevitably doesn’t work. It’s more of the way that I am choosing to live from now on. Oh and the girls and I have just booked a holiday, and we’re going to Ibiza this July – so if that doesn’t motivated me to eep the good work up, then I don’t know what will!

 

Enjoy ✌🏽

CR

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Feel free to leave a comment : )

