Lifestyle | My Top 10 Travel Essentials

As some of you may know, I’m currently an undergraduate student who lives in London, but studies in Birmingham (a whole 141 miles away). Which means, it’s fair to say that I’ve had my fair share of traveling to and from the two cities, via car, train, coach and even tube.

On Saturday, I moved back into halls after a three week easter break which inspired this blog post. I’ve decided to come up with a list of items that I feel are essential for travelling (inland). Here are my top 10 travel essentials.

1. MacBook

I literally go nowhere without my laptop and travelling is not exempt. I have all my university work stored on my MacBook and I try and use my time wisely by completing anything that needs doing. If I’m not using my laptop for work, I’ll probably use my laptop to watch a film or have a little online shop. My MacBook Air is perfect for travel as it’s fairly light weight.

2. iPhone

Another item I literally go nowhere without, is my iPhone. This is essential, not only to contact my mum & dad, but also for music. If I’m not watching a film, I’ll defiantly be listening to my music. I also use my iPhone to plan my travel routes and to have a browse on my social media.

3. 3G / WiFi

Having WiFi (for me) is essential, because without it I can’t check my emails or really do any work. I will usually connect my laptop to my iPhones hotspot (which does run the battery out my phone really quickly), or you can usually connect to Virgin Trains WiFi.

4. Bobble

This is a must have, and item I was recently introduced to. I take my bobble with me when travelling and also to university. It’s basically a water bottle with a filter, which means that I can fill it up anywhere and have filtered water. My bobble is relatively inexpensive and only requires you to buy a new filter every three months. This is also perfect as I live in halls, where the water can be temperamental and cloudy (not cute).

5. Food/Snacks

I’ll always take some sort of food with me when travelling, just in case I get hungry. I think it’s alway important for you to have some food on you just in case your low on energy. After all your going to need the strength to carry around your suitcase / weekender bag onto and from the train/tube/coach.

6. Beats

These make it onto my essential list, as if I’m listening to music (or watching a film) I’m going to need something to listen with. My Beats are perfect for travel as they fold up and fit inside the small pouch they come with when I originally purchased them. Also these help blur out surrounding sound, perfect for when the trains and tubes get busy.

7. iPhone & MacBook Chargers

If I’m using my iPhone or MacBook on my journey home, there’s a good chance that the battery life on either one of the two will run out. This is why it’s essential for me to keep my chargers on me, because without my phone I can’t contact my mumma and pops!

8. Card / Money

I always take money & my card with me just in case I lose my travel cards or Oyster cards. It’s important to have a plan B just for emergencies. I’ll also use my money to buy FOOD (obvs).

9. Comfortable Clothing & Shoes

I think choosing your travel attire is very important, bearing in mind that the full journey from halls to home (and vice versa) will take at least 3 hours. That means that being comfortable is something you’ll thank yourself for in the long run. When travelling I will usually wear leggings with trainers, and my leather jacket.

10. Suitcase / Weekender Bag

Of course, you going to need some way to bring your clothes and other belongings from A to B. When I don’t have a lot, I’ll opt for my Longchamp Weekender Bag in Khaki, and if I’ve got a lot of stuff, I’ll take my suitcase.

There you have it, the above are my 10 top traveling essentials (inland).

Hop you enjoyed ✌Screen Shot 2016-01-26 at 17.52.04

2 thoughts on “Lifestyle | My Top 10 Travel Essentials

Feel free to leave a comment : )

