Lifestyle | Tips to get Motivated

As a student, I can sometimes struggle to get motivated – whether that’s to complete my assignments, or get out of bed on my day off. However, I feel that it’s important to have goals and in order to reach our goals we need to be motivated.

So for today’s blog post I’ve listed below the ways I get motivated and the things that I do during the day to keep myself motivated and working towards my goals.

1. Start the day with a good (healthy) breakfast

I think it’s important to start the day right and with a healthy breakfast. However, I am the first to admit that I sometimes skip eating breakfast altogether. I’ve been told that it’s imperative to eat a nutritional breakfast as it acts as fuel for the brain and provides improved concentration and performance – two things needed to be motivated. When I do have a healthy breakfast (which is 70% of the time), I will usually have at least once piece of fruit with a bowl of cereal/muesli and a coffee.

tumblr_o3ayllUnoL1sdnetco1_500

2. Plan your day ahead by making a checklist

I loveeeee to make checklists and it really helps me get motivated, as I know I have a number of things that I need to do by the end of the day. I also love the feeling of ticking things off my list once I’ve done them – sounds corny, yes but I just love my lists! Knowing what I need to do, helps me keep on track and get things done.

c0713593ccce7f21d166c80065867c3a.jpg

3. Shower

Freshen up! I find that when I shower and change into my loungewear, and then start doing work I feel much more motivated. Opposed to just waking up and doing work in my PJ’s.c0aa13c498f20c2b000cb928bca355a8.jpg

4. Take breaks from what you’re doing

I take regular breaks from my work so that I don’t overload on information. For every 45 minutes that I work, I take a 15 minute break to get something to eat or drink and remove myself from my workspace. This helps me retain information better somehow – why you might ask why…, well I’m not entirely sure! This also gives me the perfect time to check social media etc, before I start working again.

5. Get rid of distractions

This, in particular, is really hard to achieve but necessary. Getting rid of all distractions helps me keep focused and on task, however, technology ultimately interferes with my work (as the majority of it is technology based). What I do to remove distraction, is turn off my phone etc and move it away from my workspace. This way I won’t be tempted to look at my phone or text my friends. I also turn off notifications on my laptop so that I’m I can do my work with no distractions.

boss-fight-free-stock-images-photography-photos-high-resolution-iphone-plugged-in-macbook-pro.jpg

6. Think positive

For me, thinking positive helps me keep on track with the work at hand. My university work has a lot of substance to it and at times I’ve felt that I can’t do it, but having a positive mindset makes things more achievable and my goals more manageable. Sometimes just listening to positive music can put me in a better mood and increases how motivated I feel.4b4dd927a09284ee56414a51a3d8af4f

7. Get enough sleep

Getting at least 9 hours of sleep is important (for me) because if I get any less than this I tend to struggle the next day. However, since moving into university halls (possibly one of the worst things I could have done for my sleeping pattern,) I hardly sleep. I do, however, tend to read at least 30 minutes before I go to bed (and get rid of any electronics) as it’s proven to help you fall to sleep quicker. I try and get as much sleep as I can, as it helps me de-stress and rest, ultimately feeling better the next morning!

baby-dog-sleep-tongue-out

So there you have it, they are my top tips to get motivated and keep motivated.

Hope you enjoyed ✌

Screen Shot 2016-01-26 at 17.52.04

N.B: These are not my images, click on images to find original post x
6 thoughts on “Lifestyle | Tips to get Motivated

Feel free to leave a comment : )

